Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

API Test kit - Am I using it right?

Discussion in 'Water Maintainence' started by mjfromga, Jan 8, 2016.

1. mjfromga

mjfromga Well-Known Member

Everyone is telling me I screwed up the use of the kit. I retested today and I decided to post what I did so people can help me if I made mistakes. I'm still a newbie so everything is helpful. PLEASE TELL ME if I did something wrong or if there is a problem. I want to do EVERYTHING correctly and welcome ALL criticism. Thanks!

Sorry for some of the crappy recording and the sniffing. My allergies are bothering me.

2. shakaho

shakaho Well-Known Member

Do you have the instructions? If not, I'll repeat them. There are two nitrate bottles.

You put in ten drops of nitrate 1 and shake as you did.
    Then you take nitrate bottle 2 and shake it hard for 30 seconds.
    Add ten drops of nitrate 2 to the tube and shake hard for 1 minute.
    Then you wait five minutes before you read it to give the color time to develop.

Do that and I'll bet you don't get yellow. :)

Fishheadz and mjfromga like this.
  3. mjfromga

Thank you! I guess I misread the instructions!

4. mjfromga

After following the proper instructions, I did get a much darker yellow, but it still was not truly dark enough to reach the first color level so I'm good to go! Thanks! That is why I post here. The color almost matched the 5 ppm so I guess that is my nitrate level. Well within acceptable range :)

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 8, 2016
    Scifisarah and Fishheadz like this.
  5. joe

joe Well-Known Member

With the way you take such good care of your fish that is the nitrate level I would expect

mjfromga and CaliGold like this.
  6. mjfromga

Thanks! Fortunately shakaho helped me use the test properly. I am very glad she helped me. My levels are still very good, but now my results are 100% accurate. What is the high range PH test for? How do I use it properly?