Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

Aqauscape Vs. Fancy Goldfish

Discussion in 'Goldfish VS Plant' started by Juppie4, Jul 6, 2015.

1. Juppie4

Juppie4 Ricky Jay

Hey everyone,

So I thought I would write a quick post about my new tank I set up several weeks ago. To give you a bit of context I have been keeping Fancy goldfish for about 12 years, more or less consistently (move country a lot so short breaks between moves). To add to that I must confess I started out like many others with a goldfish bowl next to my bed. This soon advanced to a larger cylindrical vase and then progressively larger tanks.

Having had a bare bottom tank for the last 4 to 5 years I recently decided to give a planted tank a try. I really love the look and feel of aquascaped tanks and in particularly the nature style pioneered by the world famous Takashi Amano. So began my experiment. Could I have a nice aquascaped tank with my favorite fish. As we all know Fancies are notoriously brutal on plants and quite susceptible to ornaments in the form of rocks and wood, so I knew going ahead with this could be difficult and could end in failure. But I decided to go ahead!

I bought a rimless 50gallon ADA tank and began to learn about aquascaping as much as I could. It was the first time trying a proper aquascape and so the experience was a lot more difficult than I had anticipated. I had watched a lot of tutorials and like most expert videos they make it look easy! Simple things like layering soil and sand are a lot more difficult and messy than it looks in the videos. Anyway long story short I settled on a scape which I am pretty happy with for a first try. Most of all I learnt a lot and I think that's what fish keeping and aquariums are all about.