Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.
  1. Guest
    Friendly note from GFK. Please review this beginner guide for your fish.

Are my new orandas ok?

Discussion in 'All Questions from Newbies' started by 2Orandas, Jan 12, 2018.

1. 2Orandas

2Orandas Member

BCCF9448-F0F0-4233-985A-BF4A26E24FF2.jpeg 5B503525-BB70-4708-B9D3-C4E609C2E71E.jpeg Hi there, I am new to having Orandas, but I have had experience with other fresh water fish. I have always loved Orandas and I was so excited and did a lot of research before purchasing. That being said, I am worried about my new babies, here is why...

When I purchased my orandas, I purchased what appeared to be three very healthy fish. Sadly, a few days after bringing them home (maybe 2 days) the littlest one developed a bulging eye and a few days later I noticed it began to show signs of Dropsy. I made a hospital tank for the little guy and did everything I could. Unfortunately he passed. The other two orandas (Charlie Chaplin and Sharky) seemed perfectly fine. Now I don’t know if I am being paranoid, but I am worried about them. Charlie is mostly white and I am noticing he has visible veins in his tail. And today, I noticed Sharky (red and white) suddenly has a dark red spot on the side of his head and is starting to have dark red coloring on his fins. Here is their tank situation. I hope this is all normal growth/color change, but I don’t want to leave it alone if I should be treating them for something! Thank you!!