Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.
  1. Guest
    Friendly note from GFK. Please review this beginner guide for your fish.

Fancy Goldfish and Illness

Discussion in 'All Questions from Newbies' started by Parallaxus, Jan 3, 2018.

1. Parallaxus

Parallaxus New Member

I've been keeping Cichlids and other freshwater fish for several years now, and am now considering a switch to Fancy Goldfish.

I've been doing my research, and have found a lot of reports of Goldfish Dropsy and Swim Bladder issues, and so I'm starting to rethink Goldfish entirely.

Are they really that hard to keep healthy?
    Though I'm an experienced fish keeper, I'm not really seeking a challenge. If I wanted that, I'd go with Discuss lol

I'd love to hear thoughts from the community.

Thanks

2. Cheyenne B.

Cheyenne B. Well-Known Member

Dropsy is a symptom of an underlying illness, such as a bacterial or fungal infection. Swim Bladder is often genetic. Fancy goldfish are not "hard" to keep. These things are simply more common illnesses that are associated with them. Same thing with a breed of dog that has more occurrences of liver cancer than another. Since you've kept fish, I'm sure you know about water changes. Goldfish need weekly 60-100% water changes and excellent filtration.

3. shakaho

shakaho Well-Known Member

As with other domestic animals, goldfish with a variety of mutations have more health problems and a shorter life span than the "wild type" specimens. If you are happy with just a short body and twin tails, you will find that fantails are nearly a vigorous as commons. Add more mutations and you increase the probability of ailments. Dropsy isn't much more frequent in fancy goldfish than in common goldfish. However, swim bladder disorders are sometimes just called the "fancy goldfish disease."