Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

Goldfish Culling - Ryukin

Discussion in 'Breeding' started by small_ranchu, May 13, 2012.

1. small_ranchu

small_ranchu Admin Staff Member

Goldfish Culling - Ryukin By Don(NYGold)

Hello fine members of GFK I was asked to put together a little something on culling Ryukin. I’m no expert so bare with me. I have some pictures because I think it’s easier to explain than with words.

Most people my self included like to have big spawns with lots of fry but after having a HUGE spawn I think I would rather have spawns on the smaller side like 200 or less. Having spawns of over 1000 fry at a time can be a real pain if you don’t have the room. Here is a picture of what a spawn of close to 3000 looks like.

[​IMG]

As you can see it’s very crowded and without the proper space and food these little fry will be off to a bad start. I posted this picture before and Gary told me they didn’t have enough space, I gave him some BS excuse about there being enough space but Gary was right (Sorry Gary).

These little guys are about 2 weeks old but you can actually cull some even sooner. Here is an over head shot of a few fry at 6 days old. At this stage from the top you can see crooked spines. I didn’t have a picture of a fish with a crooked spine so I drew one I hope you get the idea.

[​IMG]

Twisted spines are probably one of the first things you can cull out aside from 3 eyes and 2 heads and stuff like that I would probably keep those any way. A 2 headed fish is probably worth a million bucks.

As the fry get about 2 to 3 weeks old they start looking more like fish than alien bugs.You’ll find some with little spikes instead of dorsal fins, some that are banana shaped and some that have a butterfly like tail. I’m looking for a Ryukin that has a nice full tail that goes straight up and down after it leaves the peduncle. Here is a picture of a fry with a tail that I would cull.

[​IMG]