Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

New pond, is it ready for winter?

Discussion in 'New Members' Area' started by kat.filf, Oct 11, 2017 at 10:58 PM.

1. kat.filf

kat.filf Member

0925171936.jpg Hi I'm new on the forums. My name is Kat and this is a picture of my current fall set up for my goldbabies in Indiana. There is a bubbler and a titanium heater on the way for winter dormancy. I'm not new to fishkeeping as I've been doing it for years indoors and solely tropical. But I am new to goldfish! Is there anything I should be worried about for my pond or should add or at least be aware of? The filter is buried under the potted green onions, the pumps in the water have a prefilter I made around them full of polyester. The pond in total is about 135 gallons and it's deepest part is 18inches. I have waterlettuce and pickerel growing in the pond. 10 fancy babies, the largest being a ryukin the size of a soda can I adopted.

2. joe

joe Well-Known Member

how cold will get. Your pond is very shallow and very prone to freeze

3. shakaho

shakaho Well-Known Member

Would you show us all of whatever you have as a wall around the pond. Does this surround the whole pond? Does it have a "roof"?

4. kat.filf

kat.filf Member

@shakaho : It's in a pop up green house, it can be fully enclosed. Roof and all.
    @joe : it's southern indiana and it can go below freezing and snow and all but we usually dont have that harsh of a winter. We do have all 4 seasons though. My boss advised the straw to insulate the ground around the pond.

Attached Files:

5. Ponder

Ponder Active Member

I like the greenhouse idea, but I'm concerned that it won't hold up to snow and wind. Is it substantial enough to do that?