Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

Repashy Super Green or Soilent Green?

Discussion in 'Goldfish Food' started by Silverphish, Aug 4, 2015.

1. Silverphish

Silverphish Active Member

I have never used a gel food before, but one of my fantails seems to have a swim bladder problem and gets floaty after eating the sinking pellets (new life spectrum), and these gel diets seem to be highly recommended. I just have a few questions.

1. Which do you use for 1 year old fantails (they are about 1/2 to 1 inch long including tail)? The Soilent Green has Crude Protein min. 45%, Crude Fat min. 6%, Crude Fat max. 8%, Crude Fiber max. 8%. and the super green has Crude Protein min. 35%, Crude Fat min. 8%, Crude Fiber max. 8%. So is more or less protein good for older fish?

2. How hard is it to feed? The directions are pretty clear that it sets up like jello, but does it start to dissolve in the water immediately or break apart and make a mess (I tried daily spinach and veggies but it made a huge mess - and the floaty one won't touch peas)

3. When feeding is it still soft enough that they can pull chunks off the cube to eat, or do I need to chop it into bite sized bits?

2. GfFan

GfFan Active Member

I have not tried Super Green yet so I am curious about this as well.

Soilent Green, however, is great. The directions say to mix one part Soilent Green to 2-3 parts water, so I have always kept it at two parts and never have any of the problems I have read about it fouling or clouding the water. I have tried cutting into bigger chunks as well as bite sized chunks, and personally I think the smaller you cut it (relative to the fish) the better. They are able to get bits off of a larger chunk but it takes some wrestling with it at first. If I go with smaller pieces then there is less competition between them for an individual piece. Everyone is quickly able to grab a bit and start happily chewing it up.

DCSteve likes this.