Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

Sick Goldfish Emergency

Discussion in 'Goldfish Conversation' started by robyneller, Jan 18, 2016.

1. robyneller

robyneller Member

Hi, I'm new to this forum, but I've been keeping goldfish for 15 years. I have two tanks, a 75 gallon with one Ryukin and a 120 gallon with one comet. They are both having very very strange poop. Very long 6-7" and food colored but with sections of mucus. Its also floating a little bit. The Ryukin has more mucus than the comet. I'm very meticulous with my tanks and I keep the water as pristine as I possibly can with water changes every 2-3 weeks. I monitor the KH at least once a week. I keep "Wonder Shells" in the tanks for minerals. I have zero ammonia and zero nitrate. I do have some trouble keeping the nitrates at a good level, but never more than 40ppm.

They have been totally healthy for the past 3-4 years but I just noticed in the last week that both have the strange poop. The only thing I've changed is I went from using Amquel + to using Prime. I know to use much less of the Prime so its not an overdose issue. Could switching from Amquel to Prime cause the change in poop?

The 120 gallon tank has only been up for about 1 month but I used all the old gravel and I simply moved the media from a 50 gallon tank (no longer in use) over to the new filter. There didn't appear to be any cycling issues. I had the Ryukin and the Comet in the 75 gallon together for about a day while I was setting up the 120 gallon, but other than that they live separate but they are both sick.