Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

What do you think of this idea

Discussion in 'Goldfish in the Pond' started by Sbuggg13, Jan 19, 2018.

1. Sbuggg13

Sbuggg13 Active Member

So I am planning on moving my 5 butterflies outside in the spring and keeping them there until the beginning of fall (probably the middle of Sept). I am excited to do this because it's my first time having them outside and I can't wait for them to get into a breeding routine as well as getting the benefits of sun, and algae growth. I do not want an in ground pond. I have been looking at the Tuff stuff heavy duty oval pond at tractor supply. I've read a lot of reviews on these for stock ponds and the amount of positive feedback is great. My question is has anyone used these for outside stock ponds? how did you like them, did they stand up against the outdoors, how did you keep them predator safe (this is my biggest worry about keeping them outside). I would really love to keep them on my porch or deck. I don't want them too far from the house or from safety. I also found this below video and I am so intrigued by it. I have been going back and fourth if I should get one 110 gallon for my 5 fancy fish. They are all in my 125 gallon tank right now, and the water parameters seem fine. Towards the end of this video I realized the two tubs were connected with a pass through for the fish to swim over into the other tub. This is an amazing use of space as far as size of the water volume! It looks like it's PVC piping that they are going through. Obviously the fish in the video are quite small- way smaller than my fancies, however, I would get a very large piece so that no one would get stuck. Has anyone done this before? thoughts? Video link below.
    https://www.doovi.com/video/my-indoor-goldfish-ponds/zLeXtLWm0Vk

2. Sbuggg13

Sbuggg13 Active Member

Just a note: I know not to keep the fish in direct sun. Didn't mention that in original comment.

3. joe